Jalaj P. Jha

Technical & Miscellaneous Ramblings

Localpics.info - A Possible Trap to collect your MSN Credentials

with 19 comments

Localpics.info , is perhaps, a new crap site looking for you to get your MSN credentials. For what? Don’t know! but if you really want to know contact the person mentioned in WHOIS data

Let’s peek into their terms and conditions!

By filling out this form, you authorize TST Management, Inc to spread the word
about this 100% real and upcomming Messenger Community Site.

So by filling in your MSN credentials you authorize the site owner to “spread the word”, in other words peek into your contact list and send all your contacts mails to get their credentials in turn.

You will receive your share of the credit in helping us spread the word. This is a harmless
Community site which is offering users a platform to meet each other for free.

By “You will receive your share of credit” they mean the mails that your contacts would be sent will be on your behalf, as if you yourselves are sending the mail :) And notice they are offering a platform to meet each other for free… Was Microsoft charging everyone? ??

This is not a “phishing” site that attempts to “trick” you into revealing personal
information.

They only ask for your login credentials and not the personal information! Personal information can anyways be collected by logging into your account.

ANY LIABILITY, INCLUDING WITHOUT LIMITATION ANY LIABILITY FOR DAMAGES CAUSED OR
ALLEGEDLY CAUSED BY ANY FAILURE OF PERFORMANCE, ERROR, OMISSION, INTERRUPTION, DEFECT,
DELAY IN OPERATION OR TRANSMISSION, COMMUNICATIONS LINE FAILURE, SHALL BE STRICTLY LIMITED
TO THE AMOUNT PAID BY OR ON BEHALF OF THE SUBSCRIBER TO THIS SERVICE.

They take no liability and are responsible for nothing as they didn’t any money from you.

We may temporarily access your MSN account to do a combination
of the following:
1. Send Instant Messages to your friends promoting this site.
2. Introduce new entertaining sites to your friends via Instant Messages.

So next time they start a new website they can continue to spam you with mails related to that site too!!

This is a free service. You will not be asked to pay at any time.
You will not be subscribed to anything asking for payment.

Statement is clear… they will spam you for free!! :lol:

You can now go through the rest of the terms yourselves to find which trouble you are getting into!!!

Written by jalaj

April 3, 2008 at 1:29 pm

19 Responses to 'Localpics.info - A Possible Trap to collect your MSN Credentials'

Subscribe to comments with RSS or TrackBack to 'Localpics.info - A Possible Trap to collect your MSN Credentials'.

  1. Just had this sent to me by a prior co worker. The root URL points back to the same place as the hyperlinked URL in the IM. Red flags on this one.

    Larry

    3 Apr 08 at 1:55 pm

  2. How do I get rid of it !!!!

    Maggie

    3 Apr 08 at 2:25 pm

  3. is this a brand new website? just got a message, i hope no more of my mates a stupid enough to sign up

    martin

    3 Apr 08 at 3:21 pm

  4. Perhaps changing your msn credentials will not allow them to “enter” your msn acount again and will stop the spamming.
    Gonna try that.

    Any better solutions?!

    Alex

    3 Apr 08 at 3:43 pm

  5. Wait so you guys actually entered your email and password in there? That’s just asking for trouble. Yes changing your password to your account will stop it.

    Jeff

    3 Apr 08 at 4:28 pm

  6. Is there any chance it change the password for the people that register there acount?
    Got an message from a person on my list with here name and the adress, but she wasn’t online and hasn’t been online on the whole day.

    estoves

    3 Apr 08 at 7:38 pm

  7. I received a link from a friend while he was logged into his x-box. the link led to a site that wanted my msn login and password. The link had his login name as part of the address. I checked the ip address. There’s little info for it but that it leads to Hong Kong. The page it leads to also claims to be TST Management. That name led me here.

    Daniel G.

    12 Apr 08 at 6:47 pm

  8. hi, i think that is an MSN worm. once i have got that link and clicked it. soon after it one of my fellows reported me he has got a link from me….while i was offlime…..

    Nina

    14 Apr 08 at 9:20 am

  9. ditto, a friend of mine sent me an IM with her login as part of the URL. the website is so obviously fake, in fact, it couldn’t get much faker. i also had a bit of a laugh whilst reading the T&Cs. i then searched for TST management which also led me here. i’m guessing it’s a recent virus, judging by all the dates of these posts?
    *siiiigh* some people have far too much time on their hands…

    nikhita

    19 Apr 08 at 7:46 pm

  10. This is a specifically useful scam if you happen to use your MSPassport with the same credentials as MSN messenger, to access Microsoft resources like Volume Licensing or MSDN. THIEVING RATS! God Bless the site sponsors, TST Management, Inc of Panama, and their contact Mark Bradley, for making this such an efficient site for identity spoofing.

    Simon Pimon

    20 Apr 08 at 12:13 am

  11. i searched for tst management and ended up here too
    erm, mine said

    kinshao

    20 Apr 08 at 11:57 am

  12. [...] and it brings up reports of that name in the whois of domains used to collect details last month (localpics.info, skaq.info, pooop.info & [...]

  13. [...] Scam siteLatest MSN scam records usernames and passwords for spamJalajLocalpics.info - A Possible Trap to collect your MSN CredentialsShare it!   —   Rate [...]

    TST Management

    24 Apr 08 at 3:01 pm

  14. [...] There are many variants of the URL but all have the same login form. For more information on terms and conditions of the page, please refer to the great write-up of Jalaj. [...]

  15. yup receive those via IM too but didn’t take the bait. Anyway thanks letting everyone know. :)

    MagTotDam

    11 Jul 08 at 7:08 am

  16. So if this website, which you’ve never heard of and you have no idea who’s running it, had asked for your banking login and password, you would have given it to them? Man I’m in the wrong business. With stupid people like that out there, cybercrime is definitely the way to go.

    Dee

    12 Jul 08 at 7:48 pm

  17. they are offer also alot of other services, just type TST Managment in google and you will find tons of links.
    iamfreak

    iamfreak

    30 Jul 08 at 4:48 pm

  18. odwmxzhv mtvje rshbqctj amrpn osletwzfi hmwqyk kgajtmqd

  19. [...]        JalajLocalpics.info - A Possible Trap to collect your MSN [...]

Leave a Reply